iRewind Talk Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» iRewind Talk » Movies » « 90's Movies » As my olive branch to 90s fans, I bring up the topic of "Cop Rock"...

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: As my olive branch to 90s fans, I bring up the topic of "Cop Rock"...
rocksteadyflamethrower

80s Movie Guru
Member # 1065

Member Rated:
 - posted      Profile for rocksteadyflamethrower   Email rocksteadyflamethrower   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
This show has always interested me, although I've never seen it. As an aspiring entertainment writer, my scripts have always had much drama, yet they've been leavened with music. Likewise, this show was, too. Everybody says that nowadays TV doesn't take any chances...Well, "Cop Rock" was a major risk. I've never seen it, but I placed an order for it from http://www.until-tomorrow.org/

I'll find out soon enough what it was all about.

Do any of this board's members have views on this program?

Sincerely,

John Kilduff...The Rock Steady Flamethrower

Posts: 1545 | From: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA | Registered: Jul 2002 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Kash
Kash : Aha! He'll save every one of us...
Member # 297

Member Rated:
 - posted      Profile for Kash     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
This was a surreal and entertaining show John, switching from serious 'NYPD Blue' style drama to show tunes and musical numbers the “we’ve gotta be careful out there” song, when the sarge breaks out a grand piano in the station is a classic. I’d say ‘Cop Rock’ took its cues from British miniseries ‘Lipstick On Your Collar’ by the late/great Dennis Potter and starring a young Ewan Macgregor.