iRewind Talk Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» iRewind Talk » Movies » « 80's Movies » Miracle Mile (1989)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Miracle Mile (1989)
Nostalgic for the '80's
Ace Rewinder
Member # 37454

Rate Member
 - posted      Profile for Nostalgic for the '80's   Email Nostalgic for the '80's   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
"Miracle Mile" is one of my favorite '80's flicks (even though I didn't see it until around 2010).

The threat of nuclear war was very strong in the '80's, and this movie definitely captures that fear extremely well. To those who weren't around during that era, it's tough to explain/describe how strong the fear of this was at that time. I graduated high school at the end of that decade, and I remember this being a big concern & topic of discussion during that time.

I thought it was poignant to see the couple (Anthony Edwards & Mare W.) start off their relationship right before the end of the world...The scenes at the end when everything started getting destroyed were tough to watch...quite horrific.

On a lighter note...watching it in the 21st century, it was especially amusing to see the huge cell phone that the Denise Crosby businesswoman character was using in the diner

[ 14. March 2017, 10:17: Message edited by: Nostalgic for the '80's ]

Posts: 400 | Registered: Sep 2016 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Crash
Rewind Icon
Member # 7484

Member Rated:
 - posted      Profile for Crash   Email Crash   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote