iRewind Talk Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» iRewind Talk » Social » Rewind Social Club » DVR Question

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: DVR Question
Dexter Motley Morgan
Motley Maestro
Member # 3598

 - posted      Profile for Dexter Motley Morgan   Email Dexter Motley Morgan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I have a dvr question for anybody who's familiar with it. I can set something to record from say 7-9. The thing will either start at 7, record for 5 minutes, cut off, and then cut back on and tape until 9. Or either it will start 5 minutes late and tape until 9. The cable company is coming tomorrow to look at it............
Posts: 3842 | From: Norf Karolina | Registered: Dec 2004 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
HeWhoWalksBehindTheRows
Rewinder
Member # 7821

Rate Member
 - posted      Profile for HeWhoWalksBehindTheRows     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Just out of curiosity...have you messed with the start/stop times? or are you recording more than one program? and have you checked the recording space used? i know that you probably have....just checking...sometimes these things can be an issue. i have to set my dvr to record five to ten mins earlier so it catches the whole show...kinda wierd, but it happens.
Posts: 31 | From: Georgia | Registered: Mar 2009 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dexter Motley Morgan
Motley Maestro
Member # 3598

 - posted      Profile for Dexter Motley Morgan   Email Dexter Motley Morgan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I thought that may have something to do with it. There's 3 shows I tape from 7am-9am. Each separate show is 30 minutes a piece. I set to record from 7-9 rather than breaking down into 3's because stop and start times will be off. Either that or it's a malfunctioning box. I have Time Warner Cable and they're notorious for faulty equipment and sh!tty customer service and customer service reps with horrid attitudes. Tomorrow will be the third consecutive attempt to get a technician here. They didn't make it within the scheduled time frame last Tuesday, Thursday or Sunday. I'm already considering satellite.........
Posts: 3842 | From: Norf Karolina | Registered: Dec 2004 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
HeWhoWalksBehindTheRows
Rewinder
Member # 7821

Rate Member
 - posted      Profile for HeWhoWalksBehindTheRows     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I understand...I have been there. Hope everything get resolved for you.
Posts: 31 | From: Georgia | Registered: Mar 2009 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
jdocster McFly you Irish bug

Member # 5752



9 Updates!

Member Rated:
5
 - posted      Profile for jdocster McFly you Irish bug   Author's Homepage   Email jdocster McFly you Irish bug   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
quote:
Originally posted by MotleyRulz:
I have a dvr question for anybody who's familiar with it. I can set something to record from say 7-9. The thing will either start at 7, record for 5 minutes, cut off, and then cut back on and tape until 9. Or either it will start 5 minutes late and tape until 9. The cable company is coming tomorrow to look at it............

Based on what you've said here, I would assume it's a faulty DVR. You should google the DVR model for problems. I'll bet you find some things...

Here's some info...

Here's one from Norf Carolina... [Smile]
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/known-dvr-problem-c92916.html

http://www.nbcactionnews.com/content/cfa/story/Time-Warner-Cable-DVR-Problems/aNNm1VJs_UGOZHVpAM7p5A.cspx

http://consumerist.com/consumer/time-warner-cable/time-warners-new-dvr-software-is-so-horrible-that-lincoln-ne-has-to-hold-a-public-hearing-240223.php

Posts: 2729 | From: Kansas City, MO "At the Enchantment Under the Sea Dance" | Registered: Apr 2007 | Site Updates: 9  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dexter Motley Morgan
Motley Maestro
Member # 3598

 - posted      Profile for Dexter Motley Morgan   Email Dexter Motley Morgan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Thanks j doc. Come to find out it was a faulty dvr combined with getting too hot a signal. I'd heard of not getting a hot enough signal but the too hot one was new to me...........
Posts: 3842 | From: Norf Karolina | Registered: Dec 2004 | Site Updates: 0  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
jdocster McFly you Irish bug

Member # 5752



9 Updates!

Member Rated:
5
 - posted      Profile for jdocster McFly you Irish bug   Author's Homepage   Email jdocster McFly you Irish bug   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Glad you finally got it fixed... Sounds like someone ran a signal booster to increase your signal strength. This in turn can cause all kinds of problems especially with HD signals. I wonder if you experienced loss of any of your HD channels? Anyway, it usually means that you have a bad cable(s) running from your condo to the pole.cable junction box. I wonder if the tech replaced this cable?

Either way, good luck... [Smile]

- jdocster

Posts: 2729 | From: Kansas City, MO "At the Enchantment Under the Sea Dance" | Registered: Apr 2007 | Site Updates: 9  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
   

Please use these banners to click through to Amazon when you buy things. They really do keep this board running. Thank you from everyone @ The Rewind.

Quick Reply
Message:

HTML is not enabled.
UBB Code™ is enabled.

Instant Graemlins
   


Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | Fast Rewind Home

Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classic™ 6.7.0